My Dog Bit My Thumb…


My Dog Bit My Nail

My Dog Bit My Nail

I feel the need to thoroughly explain why I only have half of a risen finger nail on my left thumb. It is so funny seeing people make an attempt to stare at my nail without me noticing or simply unapologetically  staring at my half of a nail.

It was a cold winter day when I decided to face the cold wind and play outside in the backyard with my 75-pound-puppy mixed with Boxer and Rhodesian Ridgeback.

We were playing tug-of-war with a toy of his and that is when he BIT me. Blaze (my puppy) was trying to get a better grip on his toy, but instead sunk his teeth into my left thumb.

It hurt so badly! My thumb was bleeding profusely and I cried as my mother got ice for me to put on my thumb. I laid in bed with my homemade icepack and fell asleep as my thumb became numb.

After I woke up from my nap I realized that over 75% of my nail was detached from the skin.

My nail began getting caught on things so I had to cut the nail inward starting from the right.

I am able to pursue one of two options. I could go to the doctor let them remove my entire nail and then my nail grow back   or I could let my nail grow back while still  having my partial dead nail.

I called my mother for advice. She said and I quote, “It’s better to have some of a nail then no nail.”

Hopefully my nail fully grows back before summer!

Speak On It!

