5 Signs That You Have A Bad Friend


It took me longer than usual to figure out the exact message I wanted to articulate in this post. I was able to find all of the words to say, because I have had some bad friends that I have stopped associating with.

Every single person has had a bad friend before. The question is have we all learned our lesson? Have bad friends learned how to become the ideal friend?

I will be the first to admit that it is hard for me to let go of certain friendships. I usually struggle with letting go of friendships that I have had for years. I am a loyal and honest person, so when loyalty and honesty isn’t reciprocated I’m hurt. I’ve learned that not everyone is supposed to go with you to your next stage in life. Don’t continue to hold on to something that God wants you to let go of.

Everyone makes mistakes, but sometimes people do and say things that can threaten or severely damage their friendships. We would all like to think that we have amazing friends, but if you recognize any of the five traits listed below within one or some of your friends you may want to reevaluate your circle.

Below I have outlined 5 signs that you have a bad friend.

Takes and Rarely Gives


I am an only child so I never had to share with anyone on a consistent basis prior to college. College has taught me the importance of giving freely. In a friendship both parties should be willing to help each other in trying times and in not so trying times. You and your friend do not have to exchange physical gifts, but having a friend that gives you time and attention is so valuable. Having a shoulder to cry on is something that money can’t buy. If you have a friend that takes your time, gas and food for granted you may want to consider terminating that friendship.

Always With the Drama


I am a 21-year-old female and I live a completely drama free life. I will not invite a person into my life that involves his or herself with drama. Drama is usually birthed from a lack of communication and this communication major makes it a priority to communicate effectively. As you get older the drama in your life is supposed to decrease significantly. Life is too short not to be drama-free.

Tells Others Your Business


If you share information with your friend about your personal life and they tell someone else your personal business terminate that friendship on the spot. A friendship requires trust. If you tell your friend something because you are seeking advice or just need someone to vent to they should respect your privacy enough to keep that information to his or herself. Some people can’t help but gossip and a true friend would never gossip about someone they care about. A friend who feels comfortable spreading your business all around town probably feeds off of drama.

Not a Good Listener


I cannot be a friend to someone who does not listen well. I cannot befriend a poor listener, because we won’t be able to communicate with each other effectively. Those who do not communicate well are frustrating to work with. Also, when people care about each other they listen to each other’s stories no matter how boring the stories are.

You Always Reach Out To Them First

I believe that if the feelings are mutual the efforts will be equal. I’m a firm believer that people make time for what they believe is important. If your friend is always too busy to reach out to you then your friend doesn’t deem your friendship as something worthy of his or her time.

My father always used to say that when you die, if you’ve got five real friends, then you’ve had a great life.” –Lee Iacocca

25 thoughts on “5 Signs That You Have A Bad Friend

  1. I’m really quick to get rid of bad friends and people who just don’t fit who I am anymore. I can’t stand drama so that’s always a huge turnoff as well. I know for a fact that I’ve been a bad friend before but I focus on doing better in the future. Awesome post!

    • Thanks so much! I hate drama so much and usually know fairly soon after meeting someone if we are going to gel or not.

  2. Yes! And it is so hard to get GOOD friends nowadays especially within our age group because drama is everywhere. I have an acquaintance who is always telling me her “best friends” business and I’m just like… *sigh* this is why I have no close friends lol.

    • It is very hard to have good friends. I hate the acquaintance that does no that they are just an acquaintance. She must think you two are close if she is telling you all about her “best friend’s” business. Smh.

  3. This is a great post! I have a very limited amount of close friends (or else there would be many I would have to reach out to first). I wonder, do you find being an entrepreneur and a friend a real balancing act?

    • Thanks so much! I find it to be a huge balancing act. I am a student as well and I have to deal with jealous friends or friends that do not understand the amount of time my other commitment require.

  4. I’ve been through a difficult friendship. I believe some relationships have a season and serve a purpose during that season.

    • It’s hard to recognize a bad friend sometimes. It is good that you were able to recognize that bad friend and keep it moving!

    • It’s very hard to cut off friendships that you have had for years, but once people start to affect your happiness you have to let them go. Thanks for reading!

  5. Yep when you have a friend that has nothing but drama surrounding them that is not a friend get away from them fast. I am not the type to reach out if you can’t reach out to me. There are many ways to keep in touch with people besides a phonecall and a phone call doesn’t hurt sometimes either.

    • I hate drama and refuse to surround myself with people who love drama. I will reach out to someone a few times but once I notice the action is not being reciprocated I stop trying to contact the person. Thanks for reading!

  6. That is why my circle has grown smaller and smaller the older I have gotten. A lot of those above reasons have caused me to cut a lot of people off. You certainly speak the truth.

  7. I would agree with this list. I have had experiences with individuals like this and I am grateful for the people in life that are really good friends.

    • It’s hard to find loyal friends so when you do fine them you have to keep them around! Thanks for reading.

  8. I agree, I moved back to my home town after a few years away and got in with some old school friends. I won’t go into the details. But what I will say is it’s amazing how we stay friends with people, refusing to see the bad in them. It’s often because of the good in us.

    • I agree! I find it very difficult to end friendships with people that I have known for a very long time. Thank you so much for reading!

Speak On It!

