It’s Okay To Outgrow Your Friends


Outgrowing certain people and habits are a necessary aspect of the maturing process. Leaving people in the past can be painful, but it is an essential step to becoming the best person that you can possibly be. Growing apart from someone is extremely similar to the life cycle of a plant. Hear me out on this one! When you plant a seed in a tiny pot you watch the plant grow so large that it will eventually need to be planted outside or in a larger pot. That plant does not mourn over the fact that it must sink its roots into an new environment. The plant rejoices in the fact that it now has space to grow and an opportunity to reach it’s full potential. If the plant stayed in the pot that was too small for it would die without knowing how large it could have gotten. Without ever reaching it’s full potential.

Not everyone is meant to be in your life for long periods of time. God will allow certain people to come into your life to teach you a few life lessons. Do not hold on to a situation that is killing or deterring your growth. Be grateful for every single person you meet because they all serve a purpose. Whether its to teach you, challenge you, or push you to greater heights. But do not be afraid to say goodbye.

26 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Outgrow Your Friends

  1. This is great advice! So true! My Pastor is always preaching how people are either meant for a reason, a season, or a lifetime… and you can’t try to force them into a different category. Love this post!

    • One of my favorite quotes by the late Maya Angelou is, “when someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time.” You can’t make someone be something that they are not. You can’t force them into a different category!

  2. My friends and I was just talking about outgrowing people. I am in my 30s so my relationships are reflective of other people going on a certain journey. Sometimes you have friends just for the sake of longevity, but they still wanna act like the age you met them (high school/college aged). Sometime you have to love some of your friends from afar because they wont grow with you and it can be sad…

    • I am so happy you shared this, because growing apart from someone can be very sad. One of my best friends from high school and I were just going on two completely different journeys. We graduated high school at the same time. I am now in graduate school and she dropped out of college after our freshman year. We just lead two very different lives. There is no love lost, but still to this very day I wish we could have maintained the friendship. However, God knows what best for me.

  3. This is a word in due season! And as we remain in Spring it’s never too late to clean house from top to bottom. I did a number of years ago and couldn’t be happier.

  4. Yes!! There’s a song by Madonna that I love called “The Power of Goodbye”. Over the years, I’ve learned to embrace goodbyes although admittedly, it can be quite difficult. But people are in our lives for a season, and I’m so grateful for all of the lessons I’ve learned from those who’ve come in and out of my life and for those who’ve remained.

    • I’ve never heard that song by Madonna! I’m going to have to listen to it. I am so grateful for all of the lessons that I’ve learned as well!

  5. I totally agree. Some people are on a main Riyadh and others take that highway. Some are bikers and others take the subway. It’s fine to go a different route. No love lost!

  6. I have had to learn this lesson a couple times over. I totally embrace this now though. People are for reasons seasons or lifetimes. Not everyone is meant to stay. I live the plant analogy provided a great visual as I imagined it!

    • Thank you so much! I am so happy I was able to learn this lesson at a fairly young age. I am very intentional with who I invest my time in.

    • RIght! People change and aren’t the same person you once knew in high school. I am not very open to allowing someone I was friends with back in high school to come back into my life now, because I’ve changed tremendously.

Speak On It!

